カウンター

Unique Sanctuary with the Highest Number of Chimpanzees and Bonobos in Japan

Kumamoto Sanctuary (KS) is the first and only sanctuary for chimpanzees and bonobos in Japan. It is located approximately 800km southwest of Kyoto University’s main campus. The KS staff are passionately committed to enhancing the physical and psychological well-being of the chimpanzees and bonobos housed at the Sanctuary. The facility, chimpanzees, and other properties of Kumamoto Sanctuary were transferred from a private company to Kyoto University on August 1st, 2011. KS is now officially part of the Wildlife Research Center (WRC) at Kyoto University, WRC being the sister institute of the Primate Research Institute of Kyoto University (KUPRI). In Japan, no chimpanzees whatsoever are used in laboratory research. All of the chimpanzees formerly involved in biomedical research have now been retired and are housed comfortably at Kumamoto Sanctuary. The last three chimpanzees that still remained in another biomedical research were transferred to KS on May 15th 2012. Six bonobos are now housed at KS, having arrived in two groups in December, 2013; and May, 2014 respectively. As of April 2016 there are, in total, 58 chimpanzees and 6 bonobos living at KS. KS is not open to the public for health and safety reasons.


Latest Publications [See All]


2016 Kumamoto Earthquakes [See Details]

Updated on November 15, 2016 at 12:00am JST.

KS Chimps (Taken on April 30, 2016)
On the nights of April 14 and 16, Kumamoto Sanctuary (KS) was hit by several strong earthquakes. The magnitude 7.3 earthquake (the main quake) occurred approximately 35 km northeast of KS at 01:25 JST, April 16. Fortunately, the KS facility sustained only minor damage. We extend our sincere condolences to all those more deeply affected by this event.

Record of Magnitude 5+ Earthquakes

Date and Time Hypocenter Magnitude
14 April 2016 21:26 JST (12:26 UTC) Kumamoto 6.5
14 April 2016 22:07 JST (13:07 UTC) Kumamoto 5.8
15 April 2016 00:03 JST (14 April 2016 15:03 UTC) Kumamoto 6.4
16 April 2016 01:25 JST (15 April 2016 16:25 UTC) Kumamoto 7.3
16 April 2016 01:45 JST (15 April 2016 16:45 UTC) Kumamoto 5.9
16 April 2016 03:55 JST (15 April 2016 18:55 UTC) Aso 5.8
16 April 2016 09:48 JST (00:48 UTC) Kumamoto 5.4
31 August 2016 19:46 JST (10:46 UTC) Kumamoto 5.2

Photo Reports of Our Activities


Related Website